USA eases warning to dozens of countries including SA, pre-Olympics Japan

Multiple aircraft

A total of 33 countries - including Israel and Singapore - have been moved into its lowest risk category, Level 1.

The department changed its travel warnings Tuesday for almost 60 nations and territories from Level 4, or "do not travel", to Level 3, or "reconsider travel", according to the agency's website.

South Africa has now been ranked at level 3 by the organisation - alongside countries such as France, Mexico, Canada and Russian Federation.

The State Department also elevated 11 nations to say that Americans can exercise normal precautions when traveling there - the standard USA travel advice for developed nations before the pandemic.

Eight states - all but one of them in the Northeast - have fully vaccinated more than half of their residents against Covid-19, according to data published Wednesday by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The CDC said the change came after it revised its criteria for travel health notices.

They also do not have to self-quarantine after arriving back in the United States.

It amounted to the first major relaxation of such warnings since the agency slapped a Level 4 travel advisory on the entire globe in March 2020 as the pandemic gained speed.

The CDC said it also expects more countries to get lower ratings in the coming weeks, the BBC reported.

With well more than a hundred million Americans now being fully vaccinated, the interest in traveling to Greece after the long months of the pandemic is increasing all the time. The latest update this week affects 120 countries.

However, the White House is setting up working groups with a series of foreign countries, including the United Kingdom, to determine how to safely restart worldwide travel, with the issue due to be on the table at the G7 summit in Cornwall this weekend.

The United States bars almost all non-US citizens who have within the previous 14 days been to China, the United Kingdom, Ireland, India, South Africa, Brazil, Iran and the 26 Schengen nations in Europe without border controls.

Jake Sullivan, the national security adviser, said on Monday that any easing of travel restrictions for Europeans to the United States would be transparent and "guided by science and evidence".



Other news