BCCI appoints Chetan Sharma, Abey Kuruvilla and Debasis Mohanty as national selectors

Chetan Sharma

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday named Chetan Sharma, Abbey Kuruvilla, and Debasis Mohanty as national selectors.

Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty will join Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh in the committee, replacing Sarandeep Singh, Jatin Paranjape and Devang Gandhi, whose tenure ended in September.

While 11 candidates were interviewed, the Madan Lal-led Cricket Advisory Committee - RP Singh and Sulakshana Naik were the other members of the panel - recommended Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty for the role. Incidentally, four members of the five-member panel will now comprise of seam bowlers.

The BCCI made a decision to retain the Madal Lal-headed CAC, which held online interviews for the applicants on Thursday.

Sharma represented India in 23 Tests and 65 ODIs.

"The CAC will review the candidates after a one-year period and make the recommendations to the BCCI", Shah added.

"I am really thankful to BCCI for having trust in me and I will give my more than 100 per cent for Indian cricket", Sharma told IANS. "I thank the BCCI for bestowing faith in me and I am looking forward to justifying it", Kuruvilla said as quoted by Sportstar. BCCI held it's 89th Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad on Thursday. Ajit Agarkar, Abey Kuruvilla, and Nayan Mongia had applied from the West Zone while Chetan Sharma, Maninder Singh, Vijay Dahiya, Ajay Ratra and Nikhil Chopra had applied from the North Zone and Shiv Sunder Das, Debashish Mohanty and Ranadeb Bose had applied from the East Zone. They should have also retired "at least five years previously" and should not have been over 60 years of age.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah informed that Chetan Sharma was offered the chief selectors position despite Sunil Joshi already serving the position only because he has much experience of playing in worldwide cricket.

He is the first Indian to pick an ODI hat-trick, achieving it versus New Zealand during the 1987 World Cup.

The 1983 World Cup victor thanked BCCI for the opportunity. He was India's second-best bowler in the tournament with 10 wickets from six games at an average of 26, behind Javagal Srinath's tally of 12.



Other news