Eight additional states added to New York’s recommended quarantine

Eight more states added to New York's mandatory quarantine list

The states on the list can change on a daily basis.

Cuomo tweeted Tuesday that visitors from California, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, and Tennessee must isolate for 14 days upon arrival to NY to help combat the spread of the coronavirus.

Governor Andrew Cuomo has added eight more states to a travel advisory that requires people to quarantine for 14 days after entering NY. They now join Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah, which were each previously placed on the list.

Any travelers from states that meet either of the two thresholds on coronavirus infection rates are being told they have to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in Connecticut, New York, or New Jersey.

NY is one of many states that are now seeing their COVID-19 numbers on the downswing.

In addition to out-of-state visitors, the advisory covers CT residents who are returning from a listed state.

Of the 52,025 tests conducted in New York State on Monday, 524, or 1 percent were positive. The numbers are considered on a seven-day rolling average, according to Cuomo in the video you can watch HERE. Those found breaching the quarantine order could face fines, Cuomo has said.

In New York, patient hospitalizations stood at 891 Tuesday and the state recorded 13 deaths.

"Visitors to NJ from the following states are advised to observe at 14-day self-quarantine period", Murph said as he released the identical list released earlier by Cuomo.



Other news