Coronavirus: EU to allow entry to citizens of Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia

Article Featured Image

The EU extended its ban on travellers not just from the USA but from other big countries, such as Russia, Brazil and India, all of which are seeing rapidly rising caseloads.

The proposed "safe countries" are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisian and Uruguay. China could be added to the list, subject to reciprocity, the EU Council said in a statement. Therefore, it shouldn't surprise anyone to learn that the United States wasn't included on the list of countries approved for travel to the European Union.

The list has already aroused controversy after sources revealed that the United States - the worst-affected country worldwide by COVID-19 with more than 2.4 million cases, is on the latter list.

European countries have slowly begun to emerge from months of lockdown, although localised outbreaks have been reported in parts of Germany and the UK.

For countries where travel restrictions continue to apply, the following categories are exempted: European Union citizens and their family members; long-term European Union residents and their family members; travelers with an essential function or need.

The E.U. and U.S. experienced infection spikes in late March and early April.

Whatever is decided in Brussels will exist only as a recommendation since border control remains a national competence and a limited number of flights to and from banned countries have continued throughout the crisis.

Croatia, which now holds the EU's rotating presidency, requested that countries offer feedback by Saturday at 1600 GMT, with hopes the matter could then be put to a vote among the 27 member states.

States such as Texas, Florida and California are backtracking, closing beaches and bars or rolling back restaurant restrictions in some cases.

While this is not set in stone and is only a set of recommendations, European Union members are likely to ban access from countries not on the list to protect their citizens.

Neither. According to the European Commission, UK nationals are still to be treated in the same way as EU citizens until the end of the Brexit transition period (31.12.2020). This is primarily due to fast-rising COVID-19 infection rates in that country.

These include having a number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100,000 inhabitants close to or below the European Union average, a stable or decreasing trend of new cases, and an intelligent response to the pandemic.

Besides its own member-countries, the EU will now allow travel from 14 countries, as stated by the Council of the EU - a club representative of EU governments.

The number of COVID-19 cases in the North African country totaled 12,385 as of 10 a.m. on June 30.



Other news