Twitter's New Conversation Settings Will Let You Stay Away from Pesky Trolls

You can pick from three options just before you post your tweet

According to Twitter, only a limited group of people globally on Twitter for iOS, Android, and twitter.com can Tweet with these settings, but everyone can see these conversations. They can select everyone on Twitter, only people they follow, or only people who are mentioned in the tweet.

Twitter is testing a new feature that lets you limit who can reply in public conversations, allowing everyone else to just follow and like.

Now anyone can view and like the tweets in your conversation, but only you and the people you invited can reply.

Twitter tweeted a 46-second long video about the new test feature mentioning about the functionality. Should the test prove successful, the feature will roll out to everyone.

Like we’ve said everyone can still see your tweet but depending on your choice of option not everyone can respond to
Like we’ve said everyone can still see your tweet but depending on your choice of option not everyone can respond to

"Twitter is where you go to see and talk about what's happening", twitter Director of Product Management Suzanne Xie said in a blog. "Replies and Retweets of your Tweet will inherit the restrictions you placed on the root Tweet, but Retweets with Comments will not inherit your restrictions", it added. Tweets that have limited replies will be labeled and the reply icon will be grayed out so it's clear to people that they're unable to reply. Currently, when a user publishes a tweet on the platform, anyone regardless they are following the user or not can respond to the aforementioned tweet.

Twitter says it is exploring how to improve these settings to give people "more opportunities to weigh in while still giving people control over the conversations they start" before rolling it out to everybody.

The options include everyone, only the user's followers, or just the users mentioned in the Tweet.

Related:

Comments


Other news