Celebrations begin at Congress headquarters as JMM-Congress alliance surges ahead

Congress-JMM alliance likely to form govt in Jharkhand

Former deputy chief minister and All Jharkhand Students Union Party (AJSU) president Sudesh Kumar Mahto is leading by 4287 votes over Seema Devi of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha at Silli constituency in Jharkhand.

New Delhi: Christmas seemed to have come early at the Congress headquarters here on Monday with party workers bursting crackers and distributing candies as trends for the Jharkhand Assembly election showed the Congress-JMM alliance ahead of the ruling BJP. As per India Today-Axis My India exit poll, the Congress-JMM alliance may form the next government in the state, leading another blow to the BJP after the recent Maharashtra debacle.

Hemant Soren was trailing by 5,381 votes behind Jharkhand welfare minister and BJP candidate Louis Marandi in Dumka seat, at the time when this report was filed.

Sources told IANS that JVM has not given any assurance to the Congress leaders so far, but have said that the party will hold talks only after the final results are out.

Some of the major players for the BJP are Raghubar Das who is contesting from East Jamshedpur, Biranchi Narayan from Bokaro and CP Singh representing Ranchi. However, several of the NDA allies, including BJP's current Jharkhand alliance partner AJSU contested the 2019 Assembly polls on their own.

For the 81 assembly seats, the ruling BJP has 79 candidates in the fray. The Congress was reduced to just six seats. He claimed that "no one can stop BJP from forming the government in the state".

A poll of polls, however, predicted that the JMM-led alliance may just clear the halfway mark.

In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats.

Jharkhand Election Results At 1 pm. According to the Election Commission, the state's population stands at 3.2 crore, of which 86 lakh are ST and 39 lakh are ST.

Ramvichar Netam, the BJP in-charge of Jharkhand, on Monday, expressed confidence over his party retaining majority for the second consecutive term in the state with a maximum of 50 seats.

The state recorded around 62 per cent voting for 17 seats which went to the polls in the third phase of Assembly polls.



Other news