Johnson avoids penalty, not embarrassment at Masters

Masters Zach Johnson accidentally smacks ball with practice swing... still birdies

Zach Johnson has been grinding through Round 2 at the 2019 Masters.

-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.

American Zach Johnson accidentally struck his ball during a practice swing on the 13th tee in the second round of the Masters on Friday, producing the kind of cringe-worthy moment every golfer dreads. The ball ended up about 3 or 4 yards in front of Johnson, who scooped it up and re-teed.

After 13 holes of play, Johnson now sits at one-under for the day and one-over for the tournament.

Johnson had fun with the incident, giving people on the tee box permission to laugh because, as he said, "That's embarrassing".

Ultimately, Johnson did not need to take a penalty stroke because he had not meant to hit the ball and it was not yet in play.

But Johnson is adamant he will not the suffer the same misfortune on Saturday, as he said: "I don't think I could do it again if I even tried".

According to a new rule, because there was "no intent" to hit the ball, Johnson does not receive a penalty on the hole.

The 2007 Masters champ let out an "oh, s-t" after contact and turned to playing partners, Matt Kuchar and Ian Poulter, to find out what the protocol was. He then went on to birdie the hole and move back to 1 over for the tournament.

"He doesn't let me forget many things", Johnson said, "But, hey, you get what you deserve".

Related:

Comments


Other news