Apple sets March 25 event, hints at streaming

Apple's 2017 iPad Pro 10.5 and 12.9 are on sale at up to 22 percent off

Apple has sent an event invite for March 25th (10am PT, 5pm GMT), where it's expected to launch its highly-rumoured, long-awaited video streaming service.

Whatever is the case, Apple's "It's Show Time" event will bring fans new services and products to enjoy at home or on the go.

Apple has long hinted at a planned video service, spending $2 billion in Hollywood to produce its own content and signing major stars such as Oprah Winfrey.

Despite the fact that Apple has been working on its original content for nearly two years, sources indicate that most of the company's movies and TV shows are "still in development", suggesting that little, if any, of Apple's original content is going to be show up at launch time. The event will be at 10:00 AM Pacific, 1:00 PM Eastern, so mark your calendars. Apple news service will reportedly offer a Netflix-style bundle for magazines and subscription newspapers all in one convenient place. Apple is expected to use the event to unveil its rumored Apple News service and a streaming TV service.

The report citing sources claims that Apple will be unveiling new iPads and AirPods 2 at its March 25 media event. Apple's App Store, where the service is likely to be distributed, is now available in more than 100 countries.

Apple is aiming to resell TV channels subscriptions similar to Amazon, whose Prime Video Service resells Starz and other channels and keeps a cut of the sales. So far, Apple has stopped itself from deprecating the existing AirPods hardware in favor of a revamped version of the popular earbuds but it looks as though that run could come to an end.

Related:

Comments


Other news