Shannon Gabriel issued warning for using abusive language

Mark Wood celebrates a wicket

Joe Root is at the centre of a storm after responding to alleged homophobic comments made by West Indies' Shannon Gabriel during England's third test in the Caribbean.

The nature of Gabriel's part of the conversation was not audible but Press Association Sport understands the Trinidadian paceman was warned about his language by at least one of the on-field umpires, Kumar Dharmasena and Rod Tucker.

"Sometimes things are said on the field but they should stay on the field".

Joe Denly, playing his second Test, made 20 off 50 balls before he was lbw to Shannon Gabriel.

After trudging from the oval at the Darren Sammy Stadium in Gros Islet, Stokes was removing his protective equipment when the third umpire declared that Joseph had delivered a no-ball after reviewing the footage. "There's nothing wrong with being gay!"

"You can look at it like that but you can look at some of the dismissals I've had in there too", he told a BBC podcast. "I don't want anything said in the middle to ruin what's been a good Test series for him and his team".

Shannon Gabriel, fastest of West Indies' four-pronged pace attack, set the skids in motion when he bowled Jos Buttler for 67.

"It's been a tough three games and we have been outplayed at times so I think it was important we showed some resilience, bounced back and showed what we are capable of as a side".

But Stokes and Buttler came together for an unbroken fifth-wicket stand of 124 as two of England's traditionally aggressive batsmen, perhaps in light of recent criticism of the side's approach, reined in their natural game to guide their team to a strong position. The video clip has been doing the rounds on social media since although what had drawn that response from Root was not picked up by the stump microphone.

At the end of day three, England were 325-4 in the second innings, with a commanding lead of 448 runs with Root and Ben Stokes at the crease.

The alleged offence is covered in article 2.13 of the code, which 'is meant to cover a Player or Player Support Personnel directing language of a personal, insulting, obscene and/or offensive nature at any Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire or Match Referee during an International Match. "I don't know who said what to whom, but boy do I applaud Joe Root's reaction", he said.

West Indies' coach Richard Pybus said he was not aware of what transpired but promised to address the issue if anything "untoward" was said.

Related:

Comments


Other news