XFL Houston franchise to play at TDECU stadium in 2020

The eight teams for the inaugural season of the XFL. XFL

According to the official press alert for the XFL press conference, New Jersey Governor Philip Murphy will be in attendance, so it was a safe bet that the New York City area would have a team.

XFL is coming back and at this point, it seems like Vince McMahon and his company are planning something to make this as big of a deal as possible. We pledge to bring St. Louis a team deserving of a passionate and football-starved fan base.

In the spring, the only football TDECU usually sees is the Red & White spring training game, but professional football will grace its fields in 2020.

In all, eight cities will get an XFL squad: Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa Bay, and Washington, D.C.

"The XFL will offer fast-paced games with fewer play stoppages and simpler rules", the league said in a news release. Luck says they want to listen to fans and say they already have great ideas from them. Luck also emphasized that they want to keep ticket prices low for families.

McMahon is "personally funding" the new leaugue. Four of those stadiums are now home to NFL teams, while one is home to a Major League Baseball team, one is home to a Major League Soccer team, one his home to a college football team and one is a former home of an NFL team. After a seven-year hiatus from the National Football League, fans got another team to support when the Los Angeles Rams moved to St. Louis in 1995 and then won the Super Bowl after the 1999 season. The AAF also has eight teams and a 10-week schedule but has targeted mid-size markets. The league lasted just one season.



Other news