We Won't Have a Winter Solstice Like This Till 2029

Winter trifecta: Solstice, full moon, meteor shower on Friday, Saturday

It marks the transition period at which days begin getting longer in the Northern Hemisphere and shorter in the Southern Hemisphere, and ushers in the Winter season.

Then we'll take a closer look at that special moon.

In the Northern Hemisphere, the winter solstice, the day with the least amount of daylight, occurs on 21 December nearly every year. The day is also known as the mid-winter day which has the longest night of the year.

When exactly does it occur? When the sun rises on the winter and summer solstices, its rays shine through a small hole at the top of one of the stone buildings, which creates a starburst effect.

When: The event official occurs at 22:23 Universal Time, which would be about 5:23 p.m. ET or 3:23 p.m. MT. "In China, locals refer to the Winter Solstice as Dongzhi Festival, a celebration of winter's arrival".

Because the Earth is tilted on its rotational axis, we experience seasons here on Earth. In addition, the Northern Hemisphere is tilted away from the sun, making it colder.

Wait. Why is the Earth tilted?

But even though this is the point with the least hours of daylight, it's not the earliest sunset of the year, or the latest sunrise.

What other seasonal transitions do we mark? But scientifically speaking, it's the shortest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere.

On this day, the North Pole angles farthest away from the sun, the Google blog explained.

The moon will appear full both on Friday and Saturday nights. The December full moon is called the "cold moon". The Southern Hemisphere calls it the Strawberry Moon, Honey Moon and Rose Moon. This will happen again in 2029.

We will also see our final meteor shower of the year.

The annual Ursids meteor shower is expected to peak a day or two after the solstice.

Related:

Comments


Other news