Wong seeks Gold Glove honor Sunday

Jackie Bradley Jr, Mookie Betts, Ian Kinsler all win Gold Gloves

For Bradley Jr.it was his first Gold Glove, while Betts has now won it three years in a row. He ties D-backs first baseman Paul Goldschmidt for the most in franchise history with three.

Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado and second baseman DJ LeMahieu have been named winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award for their respective positions, the second consecutive season that Arenado and LeMahieu have both been awarded the Gold Glove.

The 26-year-old Betts won for the third straight year.

Unfortunately for Smoak and the Jays, though, Oakland's Matt Olson, who was spectacular almost all season long, was given the award, also edging out Mitch Moreland of the Boston Red Sox, who himself won a Gold Glove Award in 2016.

Two of the three Arizona Diamondbacks nominated for Gold Gloves took home the hardware on Sunday night.

At 6-foot-4, LeMahieu is one of the tallest second basemen in major-league history, but he's cougar-quick and always seems to be at the right place at the right time.

Balloting for the Gold Glove Award includes votes from each manager and six coaches from their staff who can not vote for players from their own team, and a sabermetric component accounts for 25 percent of the overall voting total. "We play a lot of games throughout the season, and winning awards isn't what you strive for; the most important part to me is working to help my team win". The SABR Defensive Index comprises approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, while the managers and coaches vote continues to carry the majority.