Blake Snell, Jacob deGrom Win Cy Young Awards

Peter Alonso

Indians ace Corey Kluber finished a distant third with 71 points.

The 25-year-old lefty was 21-5 with a 1.89 ERA and led all major league starters with a.178 batting average allowed - the fifth lowest ever for a starter and lowest since Pedro Martinez's record.167 average in 2000. Felix Hernandez won 14 games for the Mariners in 2010, the previous low for a Cy Young award-winning starter in a non-strike year. He becomes the second Cy Young victor in Rays history, joining David Price (2012). The National League, originally founded in 1876, consists of the following teams: Arizona Diamondbacks; Atlanta Braves; Chicago Cubs; Cincinnati Reds; Colorado Rockies; Los Angeles Dodgers; Miami Marlins; Milwaukee Brewers; New York Mets; Philadelphia Phillies; Pittsburgh Pirates; San Diego Padres; San Francisco Giants; St. Louis Cardinals; and Washington Nationals.

The Mets' righty was expected to win, and he won in a landslide by taking 29 out of 30 available first-place votes.

His future is a bit less certain than that of tonight's co-winner, as deGrom is under the Mets' control for only another two seasons.

Snell returned on August 4 in a four-inning start and then reeled off nine consecutive wins.

For the first time since 2015, Max Scherzer is not the NL Cy Young Award victor. He finished third behind Kluber and Chris Sale past year. Other Cy Young winners from the Mets include Dwight Gooden (1985), and Tom Seaver (1969, '73, '75). He also made five starts against former Cy Young winners and went 3-0 with an 0.59 ERA.

Scherzer had another spectacular season, leading the league with a career-high 300 strikeouts. He was attempting to become the first player since Randy Johnson to win three consecutive Cy Youngs.

DeGrom nearly won the award unanimously, receiving 29 of 30 first-place votes with 207 total points.

Luis Severino received one fifth place vote and finished ninth in the voting in his second full big league season. This is his third second-place finish since winning the Cy Young and MVP in 2011 with Detroit. The end result was 3.39 ERA (2.95 FIP) with 220 strikeouts in 191.1 innings, which is obviously quite good.



Other news