Fuming Pliskova bashes umpire's chair

An incorrect call angered Pliskova who hit the umpire’s chair three times at the end of the match and left a hole

World tennis number five Karolina Pliskova faces a fine or possible suspension after smashing her racket into the umpire's chair following a defeat.

The Czech had been left fuming when she put away an overhead at 5-5 40-40 in the third set, only for the ball to be incorrectly ruled out.

But the drama didn't end there - after the players shook hands, Pliskova then took a number of big swings with her racquet against the umpire's chair, taking a chunk out of its side.

The decision prompted fury from fans online, some calling for the umpire to be removed from their position, whilst some claimed Pliskova went too far in her actions. "The worst i have ever seen @wta and i hope this lady Marta Mrozinska will never ever judge any match of me or Karolina again #blacklistforever", the 26-year-old wrote on Twitter. She argued with the umpire on several occasions during the match about points that went out of her favour and calls that were obviously wrong when shown on replay.

In more sedate scenes on Wednesday, Halep and Wozniacki recorded respective straight-sets victories over Naomi Osaka and Alison Van Uytvanck. Former world No 1 Sharapova struck 41 winners as she rallied back from a set down to edge her Slovakian opponent 3-6, 6-4, 6-2 in a thrilling two and a half hour contest.

Related:

Comments


Other news