IEBC Commissioners Consolata Maina, Paul Kurgat and Margaret Mwachanya Resign

Three Kenya electoral commissioners quit

Kenyan commissioners Nkatha Maina (right), Margaret Mwachanya and Paul Kurgat from Kenya's Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) attend a news conference where they announced their resignation in Nairobi, Kenya, April 16, 2018. "The commission will give a comprehensive statement at an appropriate time", a statement published on the commission's Twitter account read.

"Instead, under his leadership, the commission boardroom has become a venue for peddling misinformation that brewed mistrust, became a space for scrambling for and chasing individual glory and merit", Mwachanya said.

"The chairman has, in several instances, failed to be the steady and stable hand to steer the commission ship", the statement added.

Last year's election re-run raised fears of a return to political violence in Kenya where more than 1 200 people were killed after a disputed poll in 2007, although President Uhuru Kenyatta and opposition leader Raila Odinga appeared to put their fierce rivalry behind them last month.

In an interesting turn of events, vocal commissioner Roselyne Akombe threw in the towel seven days to the repeat October 26 polls.

"The only prejudice to be suffered is the fact that Mr Chiloba will not be able to go to the office, therefore, court declines to issue the said orders", he ruled.

Weighing in on the resignation of Nkatha, Kurgat, and Mwachanya, Kieni lawmaker Kanini Kega while addressing the press in Nyeri on Monday asked Chebukati to resign on grounds that he was incompetent.

The latest development dividing the commissioners was the suspension of the head of the commission's administrative wing, Ezra Chiloba over financial mismanagement.

Technically, the Chebukati-led team can not conduct any business due to lack of quorum. "It can not be that everybody else is on the wrong and you're the only one on the right", he said.

"Given this severe deterioration of confidence in the commission chair, we find our position as commissioners under his leadership no longer tenable", she said.



Other news