WhatsApp Messages Can Now Be Deleted An Hour After Posting

WhatsApp bringing major change to its app – Know how it will impact you

It allowed users to delete messages sent 3 years ago. To be precise, one hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds, beyond which, the user can not erase messages.

We have seen that the extended time for deleting messages working on Android beta, but not on the iOS version of WhatsApp.

As of now, it is being tested on Android devices, but if the previous testing pattern is taken as any indication, iOS and Windows versions may also get the adaptive icon shape feature, but only after testing.

An hour means you now have far longer to delete messages sent by mistake, or can wipe out entire conversations from a friend's phone. From the 7-minutes or 420 seconds deadline, Whatsapp users can now delete sent messages within 4096 seconds or 68 minutes and 16 seconds.

"WhatsApp has silently improved the iconic 'Delete for Everyone" feature with an ability to block revoke requests for some users.

WhatsApp Messenger has updated its "Delete for Everyone" feature.

WhatsApp has chose to stick to 24 hours as the reference time period here to ensure that there is ample time for the recipient or recipients in case of a group chat, to receive the revoke request.

The report states that the chat app has decided on 24 hours as time frame to ensure that the recipient receives the revoke request. When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends a new message to the recipient. The reports also highlights that if the recipient's phone is not switched on within 24 hours, the revoke request will be considered invalid. The change to the message deletion function was added quietly though, and to be frank, it seems a bit odd as to why the allotted timeframe is so specific.

Related:

Comments


Other news