Rajya Sabha nomination: Naran Rathwa's last-minute entry ends high drama

BJP registers protest with EC against Cong's R S nominee Rathwa in Gujarat

It is being said that Rathwa could not file his nomination papers due to lack of important documents. Additionally, by-election will be held to elect one member from Kerala after the resignation of JD (U) lawmaker Veerendra Kumar, who quit after party president and Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar returned to the NDA fold in December past year. Both the BJP and the Congress, with their respective number of MLAs, could each send only two nominees to the Upper House. Patel had won in a hard-fought battle.

Sources said the Speakers office has ordered an enquiry into the matter. The BJP claimed that Rathwa had submitted a fake No Dues Certificate and failed to mention serious criminal cases in his affidavit to the Election Commission.

Five Rajya Sabha members from Madhya Pradesh are completing their terms in April 2018.

Gandhi had reportedly telephoned Shukla and asked him to file his nomination papers today.

Although a campaign against its decision to field a non-Kannadiga, industrialist Rajeev Chandrashekar for the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka, is drawing enormous support on social media, the BJP seems undeterred and defended its choice of candidate on Tuesday. "The RO over-ruled the BJPs objections to approve Rathwas candidature", said Congress spokesperson Shaktisinh Gohil.

Besides the BJP and Congress, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Rashtriya Janta Dal and Janata Dal United also declared the names of their candidates for Rajya Sabha.

These include central ministers Parsottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya as well as Kiritsinh Rana from BJP, Naran Rathwa and Amee Yajnik from Congress, Rajni Patel as dummy candidate as well as Paresh Mulani and Congress leader PK Valera as independents.

The Congress party has chose to field Syed Naseer Hussain, AICC spokesman, L Hanumanthaiah, former MLC and former Kannada Development Authority chairman, and G C Chandrashekar, Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee general secretary and former Chairman of Karnataka Urban Water Supply and Drainage Board (KUWSDB). However, Congress leaders rubbished it as a rumour and reiterated that the tribal leader would arrive to file his nomination.

Meanwhile, opposition including SP, Congress and RLD, too sensed the BJP move and submitted a letter of support to the BSP nominee Ambedkar.

Members of a state assembly elect Rajya Sabha members by what is called proportional representation with a single transferable vote.

This is unedited, unformatted feed from the Press Trust of India wire.



Other news