European Union extends sanctions against Russian Federation over Ukraine

A view of the House of Government of the Russian Federation and the World Trade Center in Krasnaya Presnya

Earlier Monday, the European Union renewed a six-month extension of sanctions against Russian Federation for its annexation of Crimea and support for rebels in eastern Ukraine.

The sanctions, including travel restrictions and asset freezes against 150 people and 38 companies, would be extended until September 15, the European Council said. "The relevant information and statement of reasons for the listing of these persons and entities were updated as necessary", it said.

The EU also has economic sanctions, targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, which will be reviewed on 31 July, and further "restrictive measures" in relation to the annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, which are in place until 23 June 2018.

"We will continue to call for the respect of human rights of all Ukrainian citizens in Crimea, including Crimean Tatars, and we will continue to call for the immediate release of all those who have been detained and sentenced in breach of global law", Mogherini added.

The EU will not recognize the illegal annexation of Crimea by Russian Federation and will also not recognize the results of Russia's presidential election held there.

Ukraine has been wracked by conflict since March 2014 following Russia's annexation of Crimea after an independence vote.

Russia's annexation led Western powers, including the USA, to impose sanctions against Moscow.



Other news