BJP's fate in upcoming UP Rajya Sabha polls lies with ally

Toon by Manjul

Almost nine out of 10 Indians hold a favourable opinion of him, according to a research report published in November, and opposition victories in a handful of seats can not be seen as an indication the mood is swinging away from Modi and the BJP nationally, analysts warn. The polls are scheduled for March 23. Shukla received around 46%.

The SP and the BSP have exuded confidence that they would win two of the 10 seats. The second aspect of the result is that the voting percentage was very low on both the seats, which means that the voters of BJP did not come out to vote for the party.

JDS state President H D Kumaraswamy, who has entered into an alliance with BSP for the Karnataka assembly polls, congratulated party supremo Mayawati and SP chief Akhilesh Yadav for the victory in the Uttar Pradesh by-polls.

When Adityanath was asked if the "Brand Adityanath" has taken a hit, he admitted that iot definitely has taken a hit with the recent loss in the Gorakhpur, Phulpur by-elections 2018. "They have lost their sleep with this result", she told a BSP rally in Chandigarh on Thursday evening.

Opposition strategists say the only way Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) juggernaut can be stopped is to join forces and turn 2019 into a "Modi versus the rest" election. The two parties had teamed up successfully in 1993 to thwart BJP at a time when the "Mandir" factor had not waned. I am confident that they will vote for the BJP in the Rajya Sabha elections.

Taking dig at Congress over celebrating the by-polls results the BJP chief said, it is hilarious that the party whose candidates lost deposit on both seats was in a jubilant mood. Ten candidates are in fray from Gorakhpur and 22 candidates contested from Phulpur. The loss in Gorakhpur is especially shocking for the BJP since the seat had been associated with the prestige of Yogi who represented it as an MP five-time since 1998.

BSP chief Mayawati offers condolences to her senior party leader Lalji Verma, in Lucknow on Wednesday.

Samajwadi Party candidate Praveen Nishad defeated Bharatiya Janata Party's nominee Upendra Singh by over 21,000 votes, wresting the Gorakhpur parliamentary seat, which it had held for almost 30 years, with Adityanath winning five consecutive times till 2014. "The BJP can not complain about these two seats because both the state government and centre is under BJP rule. Some didn't even step out to vote and some didn't go for door to door campaign". The CM himself addressed 21 public meetings and functions, but the party severely lacked grass-roots workers.

The Sena editorials also attacked the BJP's electoral strategies, for which the party president Amit Shah has earned the title of modern day Chanakya.



Other news