BJP ahead in Araria and Bhabua, RJD leading in Jehanabad

EVMs at a counting centre in Bihar's Araria

Araria went to polling on Sunday (March 11) along with two Assembly seats of Jehanabad and Bhabua.

In a major setback to the Mahagathbandhan, the NDA is leading from all three constituencies in Bihar.

Lalu Prasad Yadav's daughter Misa Bharti says current results in Bihar bypolls have announced the end of Nitish Kumar's politics, Bihar's youth cleared the way of RJD for the LokSabha Election 2018. Stay tuned here for all the latest bypoll results and updates.

This is the first electoral contest between RJD and Kumar-led Janata Dal (United), which split ways from the Grand Alliance and joined hands with the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) past year. In absence of Lalu Yadav, who is behind bars in connection with two fodder scam cases, his son and leader of the opposition Tejashwi Yadav spearheaded RJD's poll campaign in Bihar bypolls.

Jehangabad SS College has been selected as the counting centre for the counting of votes for the assembly.

According to TV reports, BJP candidate Rinki Pandey is leading by a margin of over 1,000 votes from Bhabhua, the seat which last represented by her deceased husband. To dethrone the Saffron party from Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabah seats, arch rivals the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) formed a strategic alliance to counter the BJP. Counting of votes is underway.

Let us tell you that in this tired of the Arriya Lok Sabha by-election, there is a direct fight between BJP Pradip Singh and RJD's Sarfaraz Alam.

In Jehanabad, the RJD is squared against the JD (U).

The BJP's Rinki Pandey was leading by over 6,000 votes over Sambhu Patel of the Congress, a RJD ally, in Bhabhua.

The Jehanabad Assembly seat fell vacant after the death of RJD Legislator Mundrika Yadav.



Other news