Oli sworn in as Nepal PM for second time

File A meeting of UML-Maoist Centre Unification Coordination Committee

With Deuba's resignation, Khadga Prasad Oli is all set to come into power as the new Prime Minister of Nepal.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office at Sheetal Niwas at 4:30pm on Thursday in the capital, Kathmandu, hours after she appointed Oli to the post.

As per the constitution of Nepal, promulgated in 2015, the process of new government formation starts after the formal submission of election result to the President by the Election Commission.

CPN-UML chairperson K P Sharma Oli became Prime Minister for the second time over two months after his Left alliance routed the ruling Nepali Congress in the country's historic parliamentary and local polls. He is likely to induct two leaders, one each from the UML and the CPN-Maoist Centre, as ministers today, according to the source.

It had also secured an overwhelming majority in the upper house of Parliament with 39 out of the 59 seats.

Oli sworn in as Nepal PM for second time

While the election for Nepal's new president would be held on 5 March, the vice president would be elected on 16 March, they said.

The last 11 years have seen as many as 10 leaders in the country, apart from widespread corruption and devastation after a powerful quake in 2015.

The veteran Nepalese politician became Nepal's prime minister for the fourth time in May past year after the main opposition party made a decision to end the obstruction of parliament.

This is unedited, unformatted feed from the Press Trust of India wire.



Other news