Three AAP candidates elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

Three AAP candidates elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

A day after Congress alleged on Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) Rajya Sabha candidate N.D Gupta of holding the office of profit, on Monday his candidature has been approved by EC.

The elections for three Rajya Sabha members from Delhi are scheduled on January 16 as terms of the incumbent members, Dr Karan Singh, Janardan Dwivedi and Parvez Hashmi - all from Congress - expire on January 27.

On Monday evening, the AAP candidates received the "certificate of election" confirming their election to the Upper House.

The opposition parties did not nominate any candidate for the seat as the AAP enjoys a brute majority in the 70-member Delhi Assembly.

In a letter to the Returning Officer, Maken had said that Narayan Dass Gupta was appointed as the chairman from September 8, 2015 and "has not resigned from the post till date".

On Wednesday, AAP had announced the names of former Congressman Sushil Gupta, chartered accountant N D Gupta and senior party leader Sanjay Singh as its candidates for the Rajya Sabha polls.

Informed sources told IANS that after N.D. Gupta's candidature was approved, the two covering candidates of the AAP withdrew their nomination, making the three the only ones in the race.

The Returning Officer had put Gupta's nomination on hold on Saturday after the Congress demanded that his candidature be rejected as he holds an office of profit.

In his detailed reply, Gupta referred to various exemptions under the office of profit and also said that he had resigned from the Trust on December 29, 2017.

But the Returning Officer said Gupta's Chairmanship of the Audit Committee was not a violation of the election code.

The AAP had called the complaint "frivolous" and a "cheap publicity stunt" by the Congress. The meeting, which was held at Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's residence, was attended by 56 party MLAs.



Other news