Joe Castiglione to join College Football Playoff selection committee according to reports

Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Each member serves a three-year term on the committee, which releases the poll that determines the four teams that make the College Football Playoff. In his new role on the committee, Stricklin will be responsible for helping compile the CFP Rankings each week of the college football season beginning in late October or early November, assigning the College Football Playoff and selecting teams to the other New Year's Six bowls. Six new committee members, including Castiglione, are expected to be announced in February, per Dinich's report. The conference is guaranteed a sitting athletic director, thus Castiglione's appointment. "Each one of them has built a distinguished career based on diligence and doing things the right way".

That's why Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith, Clemson AD Dan Radakovich and former head coach Frank Beamer, whose son is on Georgia's staff, were forced to recuse themselves from the final vote for the 2017 playoff.

However, the committee does have the option to add recusals for other special reasons as they come up.

Boivin, an IL alumn, spent more than 20 years at The Arizona Republic before she took a job in the sports journalism program at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Hatfield was a head coach at Air Force, Arkansas, Clemson, and Rice.

Mullen coached the Bulldogs during Stricklin's tenure at Mississippi State.

Joe Castiglione has also served on the NCAA baseball committee and been the chair of the men's basketball committee in the past, creating a level of experience. He retired in 1995 and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2000.

He becomes the Big 12's lone representative on the CFP committee, as former chairman and current Texas Tech athletic director Koby Hocutt's three-year term recently ended.



Other news