Sports Minister recalls SL ODI players before take off

Sri Lanka ODI team asked to return home before boarding flight to India

The decision came after Sri Lanka suffered three consecutive ODI whitewashes this year against South Africa, India and Pakistan, under Tharanga's captaincy.

However, Kusal Perera and all-rounder Asela Gunaratne have returned to the one-day global squad for the series against India.

The Minister said, the team was leaving the country without his approval, a blatant violation of the country's Sports Law which requires the incumbent Sports Minister's approval.

In an eventful day for Sri Lanka Cricket, their players, who had been stopped from boarding the flight to India, for the upcoming ODI series, have now got the clearance from the sports ministry.

The minister is set to meet the cricket board and the nine Sri Lankan players are free to leave later today.

The press agency says the nine players involved were led by captain Thisara Perera. Neither did Kusal Mendis, who was rested for the Test series.

While the first match is scheduled to be played on December 10, the second encounter will take place in Mohali on December 13 followed by the third and final ODI in Visakhapatnam on December 17.

All sporting teams chosen to represent Sri Lanka need the approval of minister of sports according to Sri Lanka's sports law.

Gunaratne returns to the side for the first time since being injured in July against India in Galle.

Sri Lanka's ODI squad: Thisara Perera (C), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Chaturanga de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachith Pathirana, Kusal Janith Perera.



Other news