Baker Mayfield named AP Player of the Year

Oklahoma football: Baker Mayfield wins Maxwell Award

He joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma.

Mayfield, the Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, is the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award honors the nation's best quarterback. Never again, though. When he was asked about it by the media on Wednesday, Mayfield smiled and said, "I don't think I'll be doing that". No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year. "Obviously I'm very happy and thankful that I'm being recognized with this".

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield is the victor of the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award, given out on Thursday at the College Football Awards Show at the College Football Hall of Fame.

$3.95 a month: Get unlimited access to everything crimson and cream.

. Sign up now at

"He's the leader of our team, I know everyone in Sooner Nation is proud of Baker and what he's done", Oklahoma coach Lincoln Riley said.

OU tight end Mark Andrews has already been announced as the Mackey Award victor given to the nation's top tight end, and left tackle Orlando Brown is a finalist for the Outland Trophy, given to the country's best interior lineman.

Mayfield, Love and Jackson are also the finalists for the Heisman, which will be handed out Saturday night in NY.



Other news