Travel and tour professionals preparing for World FIFA Cup demand

Sergei Konkov  TASS

There is also the fear of potential violence after England fans were targeted by Russian hooligans in France a year ago - yet England did rank in the top 10 for ticket requests prior to the final round of qualifying matches.

Excitement is building prior to FIFA's flagship event and ticket requests have been high since 14 September: 3,496,204 tickets have been requested so far as the first sales period concludes today.

"We never placed bets on the possible tempo of ticket requests", Sorokin said.

The world's governing football body also reported in its statement that "around 150,000 tickets have been requested for the Opening Match and more than 300,000 for the Final". In Group D, Senegal have the lead over Burkina Faso, and need a draw in their final match (hosting South Africa) to advance to the World Cup. Fans can apply for Individual Match Tickets for all Matches, Venue Specific Ticket Series for all Stadiums, and Team Specific Ticket Series.

Federation Internationale de Football Association said the tickets would be allocated by a random selection draw, and that all applicants will be notified by November 16. All successful, partially successful and unsuccessful applicants will be duly notified of the outcome of their applications by 16 November 2017.

Ticket sales will restart on that day on a first-come, first-served basis when fans will be able to buy online. In order to take part in World Cup, Nerlands, which had to defeat Sweden by 7 by end of group A, was left with A 2-0 win from this fight, World Cup dreams fell into water. Peru haven't been to the World Cup since 1982.

The matches of the 2018 World Cup will be held between June 14 and July 15 at 12 stadiums located in the 11 mentioned above cities across Russian Federation.

England fans' apathy towards the national team and next year's World Cup finals in Russian Federation has been illustrated by a lack of ticket requests. Hosts Russia have been joined by Brazil, Iran, Japan, Mexico, Belgium, Korea Republic, Saudi Arabia, Germany, England, Spain, Nigeria, Costa Rica, Poland, Egypt, Iceland, Serbia, France, Portugal, Panama, Uruguay, Colombia and Argentina.

The Final Draw will be held on December 1 in the Kremlin.



Other news