JNUSU elections: Voting percentage less than a year ago

JNU Elections

Khan defeated Durgesh Kumar of ABVP who got 1028 votes. BAPSA ( Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students' Association) is in the second position and ABVP (Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad) hasn't lost hopes yet despite being in the third position. "This election took place at a time when the government, along with its puppet JNU VC and ABVP left no stone unturned to "Shut Down JNU" through a deliberate massive seat cut; and elimination of deprivation points and other inclusive features of JNU's admission policy, trampling upon of all decision making bodies by the VC and targeted victimization of students, JNUSU and faculty members".

The united-Left supporters have already begun their celebrations.

There are seven candidates are in the fray for President's post including Geeta Kumari from AISA-SFI-DSF alliance, Nidhi Tripathi from the ABVP, Aparajita Raja from AISF, Shabana Ali from BAPSA and M D Farooque Alam who is an independent candidate.

Shubhanshu Singh of Left front won as Joint Secretary with 1755 votes, defeating Pankaj Keshari of ABVP, who got 920 votes.

The poll panel has completed counting at two centres - School of Sciences and School of International Studies, an official said and counting for the School of Social Sciences and the School of Language, Literature and Cultural Studies is now underway and the final results are expected to be announced around midnight.

However, rivals like the RSS-affiliated ABVP and BAPSA said they have made inroads into its vote share. Meanwhile, Kanhaiya Kumar, former JNUSU president said ABVP at present is the organisation with the largest cadre base, but "not all its cadre come out to vote".

NOTA (None of the above) got more votes than the National Students Union of India in the JNUSU polls.

He also vowed to defend the debate and dissent culture in JNU.

NSUI national president Fairoz Khan said, "We should have worked harder by taking up the issues of the students such as water, hostel facilities, better modes of transport, etc".

Total 31 councillors have been elected for various posts, the election officials said.

However, looking at the absolute numbers - this year total number of voters were just 8,045 because of seat cuts compared to last year's around 8,600 students.



Other news