Hurricane Katia strengthens to Category 2

Tropical storms Jose, Katia upgraded to hurricane status

Katia is the 11th named storm this Atlantic hurricane season and follows Hurricane Irma and Hurricane Jose.

Hurricane Katia strengthened on Friday to Category Two storm on a scale of five as it raged towards the eastern coast of Mexico, authorities said.

Maximum sustained winds are near 45 miles per hour (75 kph) with higher gusts.

State energy company Pemex [PEMX.UL] has installations in and around the coast of Veracruz but has not reported any disruption to its operations.

All eyes are on Hurricane Irma as it moves toward Florida, but it's not alone. Katia is expected to produce total rain accumulations of 5 to 10 inches over northern Veracruz, and 2 to 5 inches over far southern Tamaulipas, northeast Puebla, and southern Veracruz through Saturday morning.

"This rainfall may cause life-threatening flash floods and mudslides, especially in areas of mountainous terrain", the Miami-based NHC said. Maximum sustained winds are at 45 miles per hour with heavy rain and flash flooding being the concern for the southeastern side of Mexico.

Jose is expected to reach hurricane strength later in the day, the NHC said.

At 7 a.m. CDT (8 a.m. EDT/1200 UTC) on September 8 the center of Hurricane Katia was located near 21.1 degrees north latitude and 95.6 degrees west longitude.

Next up is Tropical Storm Jose, which is now in the Atlantic some 1,135 miles (1,825 kilometers) east of the Lesser Antilles and roaring towards the Caribbean.

According to their forecast, Katia could make a landfall on southeastern Mexico in the coming weekend. The estimated minimum central pressure is 1004 millibars.

It said a hurricane watch was in effect for the coast of the Mexican state of Veracruz where heavy rainfall could be expected.

Related:

Comments


Other news