Arundhati Roy's second novel out of Man Booker Prize 2017 race

Reading with friends.     Shutterstock

The shortlist for the £50,000 literary prize was chosen by a panel of judges that included literary critic Lila Azam Zanganeh, Man Booker Prize shortlisted novelist Sarah Hall, artist Tom Phillips, travel writer Colin Thubron and was chaired by Baroness Lola Young.

American author George Saunders is favored to win the prestigious Man Booker Prize for fiction with his novel of the afterlife, "Lincoln in the Bardo", according to British bookmakers. "The emotional, cultural, political and intellectual range of these books is remarkable, and the ways in which they challenge our thinking is a testament to the power of literature", Young commented.

Saunders's novel is set in a Washington graveyard in 1862, where President Abraham Lincoln visits the body of his 11-year-old son, and is among several innovative works on the shortlist. However, the two writers did not make it to the shortlist.

Hamid is shortlisted for 'Exit West'.

Fiona Mozley's debut novel Elmet tells the story - through the eyes of a child - of a bare-knuckle fighter bringing up his kids.

Alongside "Lincoln in the Bardo", the contenders authored by Americans are "4321", Auster's story of parallel lives, and Emily Fridlund's Midwest coming-of-age tale "History of Wolves".

Half the authors on the shortlist - including the bookies' favourite to win, George Saunders for Lincoln In The Bardo - are U.S. authors. The list also features 2 debut novelists, one each from the USA and the UK. As well as playing an important role in recognising literary endeavour, the prize's charitable activities underscore Man Group's charitable focus on literacy and education and our commitment to creativity and excellence'.

The victor will be announced October 17 during a ceremony in London's medieval Guildhall, after the five judges meet for a final time. Each of the shortlisted authors will be awarded £2,500.

The shortlisted authors each will receive 2,500 pounds and a specially bound edition of their book. The victor will be announced on October 17. Previous winners of the prize that was launched in 1969 include Ian McEwan, Iris Murdoch, Hilary Mantel and Salman Rushdie. The prize has also recognised many authors early in their careers, including Eleanor Catton, Aravind Adiga and Ben Okri.



Other news