James Faulkner recalled for limited overs series against India

James Faulkner recalled for limited overs series against India

Smith, David Warner and Pat Cummins have been included in Australia's one-day and Twenty20 squads for the upcoming tour of India that runs from September 17 until October 13.

Faulkner, who was judged the best player in Australia's 2015 World Cup final win but fell out of favour and was overlooked for this year's Champions Trophy, headlines the list of recalled talent in the new-look ODI squad. Coulter-Nile, who has been hampered by serious injury in recent years, will get a chance again having shown impressive signs in the Indian Premier League earlier this year.

"Nathan brings raw pace to the side with good variation", said Trevor Hohns, the national selector, while announcing the two squads - 14 for the ODIs and 13 for the T20Is.

"James is a solid one-day campaigner and is very familiar with subcontinent conditions, coming off a very good tour of Sri Lanka past year", chief selector Trevor Hohns said.

Starc isn't the only big name missing through injury, with the big hitting Chris Lynn, all-rounder John Hastings and fiery quick James Pattinson also unavailable for selection. And now, owing to his experience in the subcontinent, the all-rounder has been named in the 15-member squad that will fly to India for the limited-over series.

Western Australia all-rounder Hilton Cartwright has also been called up to the squad and is set for a debut in the 50-over format while there have also been recalls for Ashton Agar and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

T20 squad: S Smith (captain), D Warner, J Behrendorff, D Christian, N Coulter-Nile, P Cummins, A Finch, T Head, M Henriques, G Maxwell, T Paine, K Richardson, A Zampa.

Head scored an unbeaten 104 in the Australian Intra-Squad practice game at Darwin between a Steve Smith XI and David Warner XI though he won't be a part of the Test team that takes on Bangladesh in Bangladesh. "He had a solid IPL season this year and we believe his bowling will be well suited to the conditions we will face in India", T20 selector Mark Waugh said of Behrendorff.

Chennai, Bengaluru, Nagpur, Indore and Kolkata are scheduled to host the five-match ODI series while Hyderabad, Ranchi and Guwahati will be venues for the T20s.



Other news