SpaceX delays Bulgaria Satellite Again, Plans 'Doubleheader'

BulgariaSat-1 to launch on SpaceX's Falcon 9

After pushing back the launch of a Bulgarian communications satellite on Sunday, June 18, SpaceX announced it could proceed with "double-header" launches this coming weekend. The Iridium satellite launch, meanwhile, is now scheduled to lift off from Vandenberg's Space Launch Complex 4 at 1:25 p.m. PDT (4:25 p.m. EDT/2025 GMT).

The company tweeted that technical issues with a valve forced teams to delay the launch from pad 39A to no earlier than Friday with a second opportunity on Saturday. That Sunday flight will use a new Falcon 9 to launch 10 new satellites for the Virginia-based company Iridium, which is building a 70-satellite constellation for its Iridium NEXT mobile communications network. SpaceX has at least another three launches planned for June on top of the Iridium and BulgariaSat-1 launches, from both Kennedy Space Center and Vandenberg.

With a public acknowledgement that SpaceX is even willing to consider two launches within 48 hours, let alone officially schedule those launches with confidence, speculation of weekly launch cadence has been all but confirmed as a likely reality for SpaceX in the near future.

Once in space, "BulgariaSat-1" will find its orbit located 36,000 kilometers from Earth, and then provide Bulsatcom customers in Bulgaria and other parts of Europe with high quality television signals.

"Postponing launch to replace fairing pneumatic valve".

The launch date for this mission has been delayed multiple times.

Many people are eagerly waiting for the launch of the first telecommunication satellite in Bulgaria. The first relaunch happened on March 30 following a booster from Florida.

If everything works out, it seems SpaceX plans to launch two Falcon 9 rockets from its Cape Canaveral and Vandenberg launch sites this weekend.

Related:

Comments


Other news