Florentino Perez to remain as Real Madrid president until 2021

Ronaldo is reportedly unhappy in Spain after being accused of hiding money from the taxman

Having brought in the era of the Galacticos in Madrid, Perez and the club could continue that approach by adding Monaco star Kylian Mbappe this off-season.

Among the issues Perez will have to deal with is Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo who is threatening to leave Spain after running into problems with Spanish tax authorities.

Mark Ogden isn't overly convinced Cristiano Ronaldo will be leaving Real Madrid after recent reports suggesting otherwise.

Florentino Perez will serve another term as Real Madrid president after standing unopposed for re-election, the club have announced.

Perez held the position for the first time between 2000 and 2006, a period during which Real signed Luis Figo, David Beckham and Ronaldo.

Not one club member made a decision to launch a campaign during that 10-day period, though, and the electoral board confirmed on Monday that Perez has subsequently been elected for a fifth term.

"As no other candidature was put forward to the board and by virtue of article 40, paragraph E, item 2 of the current articles of association within the club, is it proclaimed that Mr Florentino Perez Rodriguez is president of Real Madrid". This has ensured Perez will continue his presidency for a third successive mandate and fifth overall.

However, despite signing some of the world's finest players, results on the pitch weren't satisfactory and - despite massive increases in marketing revenue - Perez resigned in 2006, conceding that the club would benefit from a new direction.

Following Perez's re-election, Madrid splashed out around £225million on the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka, Karim Benzema and Xabi Alonso in the summer of 2009.

Perez, who began his second spell in 2009 and has overseen three Champions League wins in the last four years, has barely had to contend with any rivals for his post since the Liga club changed internal rules for presidential candidates in 2012.



Other news