Cabinet clears proposal to build ten atomic reactors

Union Cabinet approved setting up of 10 indigenous nuclear India Tv

The plan of the mega nuclear power project was made public by Union Minister of State, Piyush Goyal, with independent charge for power, coal, new and renewable energy and mines in the government of India. In recent years, the country has started ramping up its nuclear power capacity.

The existing PWHR reactors in India have the capacity to generate between 220 MW and 700 MW.

Goyal also said that nuclear reactors, which will produce 6,700 MW, are under implementation and these are expected to be completed by 2021-22.

The new reactors will have more capacity and will be in addition to those expected to get online by 2022.

The project is part of the "Make in India" initiative.

India has installed nuclear capacity of 6,780 MW from 22 plants and plans to add another 6,700 MW by 2021-22 through projects now under construction. The department also said that the order would cost Rs 70,000 crore, and that it would create 33,400 jobs. A PHWR uses natural Uranium as fuel and heavy water as both moderator and coolant.

India has approved the construction of ten indigenously designed pressurised heavy water reactors (PHWR). The conflict of interest in having the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, a government body, overseeing the public sector nuclear power plants will have to be resolved. In July 2014, the government of Prime Minister Narendra Modi agreed to add 14,000 MW ofnuclear power capacity by 2024.

India now operates seven nuclear plants, mostly of Russian and U.S. origin.

"It added: ".In a first-of-its-kind project for India's nuclear-power sector, the 10 new units will come up in a fleet mode as a fully homegrown initiative.

The release said the approval marks a statement of strong belief in the capability of "India's scientific community to build our technological capacities".

India has been building up an indigenous nuclear programme with some help from Russian Federation since it faced worldwide sanctions for carrying out nuclear tests in 1974 and 1998.



Other news