BCCI Announces 15 Member Indian Squad For The ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Rohit Sharma who didn't play ODI Cricket from last year October has recovered from a thigh injury and made a come back for Champions Trophy based on the weight age to his round year performance.

Ajinkya Rahane: Rahane has been selected as the other opening option for the tournament.

Gambhir's loyal fans also slammed the Indian board and a hashtag named #bringbackgambhir was soon trending on social micro-blogging site Twitter.

The uncertainty stemmed from India's evident dissatisfaction with the new power and revenue-sharing model agreed by the International Cricket Council last month.

India are in Group B for the competition, facing Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

Commenting on the chances of India retaining the Champions Trophy, the pacer said, "100 percent India can win the Champions Trophy".

India are scheduled to play two warm-ups matches against Bangladesh and New Zealand.

The national selectors discussed the names of Rishabh Pant, Suresh Raina, Shradul Thakur, Dinesh Karthik and Kuldeep Yadav during the selection committee meeting here, but they weren't considered for the final selection. Indian will start the champions trophy as a clear favourite but there would also have to cope with the pressure of being the defending champions.

The top eight sides in the world rankings compete in the Champions Trophy.

BCCI announced the Indian squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017 after a meeting in Delhi today. After getting energetic captain like Virat Kohli the expectation of victory of Indian team has increased greatly. It is such performances in IPL, which might bother the selectors, who might also have to think about his long absence from the game.

India have belatedly named their Champions Trophy squad, which includes recovering offspinner Ravi Ashwin, nearly two weeks after missing the initial deadline. "Best person to guide Virat, invaluable for the team".

India will play their Champions Trophy lung-opener against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who has skipped the IPL owing to a sports hernia injury, has been included.



Other news