NASCAR sets stage lengths for 2017 season

NASCAR released the exact stage lengths for its new three-segmented format on Thursday that will be used in every 2017 Monster Energy Cup Series, Xfinity Series, and Camping World Truck Series race.

In all, he has won five journalism awards for news related to NASCAR and Daytona International Speedway among dozens of journalism industry awards he has amassed in his news reporting career primarily in the areas of breaking news and investigative reporting.

"Every track is unique for its characteristics in length, surface and overall racing conditions", NASCAR vice president Scott Miller said in a statement. The stages in NASCAR's biggest race are scheduled to end on lap 60, lap 120 and lap 200.

Drivers will be awarded championship points if they are among the top 10 at the end of each stage with the "winner" of the first two stages receiving one playoff point and the actual race victor receiving five.

The championship race at Homestead-Miami Speedway has stages end on laps 45, 90 and 200. Those points will carry through to the end of the third round of the "playoffs", when the field dwindles to eight drivers.

In the season's first two races, Spencer Gallagher will drive the No. 23 Chevrolet in the February 24 season opener at Daytona International Speedway and 2016 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series rookie of the year, Chase Elliott, will drive for the team the following weekend at Atlanta Motor Speedway.



Other news