Subhash Chandra wins Rajya Sabha seats

TN Chief Minister Jayalalithaa presented a 29-page memorandum to Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the restoration of water level at Mullaperiyar dam to 152 feet

Notably, the MLAs whose votes are invalid owe allegiance to former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda and many party leaders claim it was because of a "rebellion" by the Hooda camp that the party-backed candidate lost.

Out of 17 votes of Congress, only three were cast in favour of RK Anand that of KuldeepBishnoi, his wife Renuka and KiranChaudhary.

As the Rajya Sabha polls are held with an open ballot system, every voter has to show the ballot paper to the respective party's official agent before casting the vote. BJP-backed media baron Subhash Chandra was the winning candidate.

In Uttar Pradesh, 12 candidates are vying for 11 seats. The Congress is livid with the BJP-controlled state machinery and called it a state-sponsored fraud.

Chandra said as an Independent candidate he reached out to 76 MLAs cutting across parties in the 90-member Assembly seeking their support. While 30 of the 57 seats up for grabs had been decided beyond doubt, the remaining 27 saw heated battles between the Congress and BJP in a number of states.

In Jharkhand, BJP managed to secure victory of its both the candidates. Gotia got 50 votes-48 surplus votes of BJP and two independents-against the required 58. Congress spokesman R P N Singh accused the Modi government of using money and muscle power to win these elections.

In the 403-member Assembly, SP has 229 MLAs, BSP 80, BJP 41, Congress 29 and RLD 8.

In Madhya Pradesh, while ruling BJP, which has 164 votes, is assured of victory of its candidates M J Akbar and Anil Dave, a fight is on for its third candidate Vinod Gotia, who faces a tough challenge from Vivek Tankha of Congress, as he needs 10 more than the 48 surplus votes his party has.

He rejected allegations of any horse trading saying nothing of that sort happened. It was the Congress that through deliberate cancellation of its 14 votes ensured Chandra simply walked away with a victory when there was none for him.

In Uttarakhand, the lone seat went to Congress' Pradeep Tamta.

BJP has 160 legislators followed by 24 of Congress, 4 of National People's Party, three of BSP, two of National Unionist Zamindara Party and seven Independents.

"Congress touched a new low by supporting a candidate who had in the past criticised Indira Gandhi and other members of the Gandhi family". Media reports suggested Mr. Ramamurthy benefitted from cross-voting by eight MLAs of the Janata Dal (S), which is headed by former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda.

"The results of Rajya Sabha polls are as per the numbers that we had and we have achieved success", he added.

The Empowered Committee of State Finance Ministers on the proposed Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill will meet in Kolkata with West Bengal Finance Minister Amit Mitra in the chair for two days beginning on Tuesday, an official source said here. Colleagues Jairam Ramesh and Oscar Fernandes won from Karnataka. A candidate needed 40 votes to win in Rajasthan.



Other news