RS polls: BJP clinches all seats in Rajasthan

Minister of State for Finance Jayant Sinha

Fuming upon the unexpected victory of media baron and BJP-backed Independent candidate Subhash Chandra in the Rajya Sabha polls, the Congress party has said rejection of 14 votes is a "surprise".

Haryana had two MP seats for Rajyasabha and BJP fielded Chaudhary Birender Singh whereas Congress fielded lawyer RK Anand.

A delegation led by Haryana Congress chief Ashok Tanwar on Monday met the EC and submitted a memorandum to underline how the elections to the two Rajya Sabha seats from the state were rigged and why it should be held again.

The party earlier today adopted a resolution asking its president to suspend 8 legislators and to expel them for their indiscipline. There are 6 Independents. In Uttar Pradesh the controversial leader Amar Singh got not only re-entry in the Samajwadi Party but got a Rajya Sabha seat also. Although SP managed to ensure victory of all its seven candidates, only three were through in the first round of counting, reflecting that the contest was close for the ruling party. Maintaining that 12 Congress MLAs were deliberately given a different pen to cast their votes, Anand's petition said: "This voting pattern could not have happened except with deep-rooted conspiracy of the ruling party in active participation of some officials of Vidhan Sabha to hijack and rig the election in favour of BJP-supported candidate..."

Polling in Rajasthan was forced by the entry of former Union minister Kamal Morarka with the support of Congress and other some other non-BJP parties and independents. Rajasthan saw cross-voting by at least two BJP MLAs.

Meanwhile, after the BJP registered a complaint against two Congress MLAs arrest warrants were issued for them, sending Congress in a tizzy. Harshvardhan Singh and Ramkumar Verma were the new faces fielded by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Congress has 17 MLAs in the House while INLD has 19.

The BJP suffered a setback in Madhya Pradesh when its third candidate and the lone Congress candidate Vivek Tankha polled the highest votes - 62 - five more than 57 MLAs it has.

The minimum number of votes required to win was 28. Of the total 200 members of the Legislative Assembly, 199 voted in the polling held from 9 am to 4 pm.

The winners are Oscar Fernandes, Jairam Ramesh and K.C. Ramamurthy (all Congress) and Union Minister for commerce and Industry Nirmala Sitharaman of the BJP. Another member of the party who emerged victorious was Mahesh Poddar.

"In a democratic set-up, if such conspiracies are allowed to succeed, then our democracy will be in danger", he said. Her party Trinamool Congress has 12 members in the Upper House, with West Bengal finance minister Amit Mitra heading the empowered committee of state finance ministers that is due to meet on Tuesday and Wednesday to discuss the draft legislation. JMM MLA Charma Linda and Congress MLA Devendra Singh could not cast their vote.



Other news